Ryan Crothers, 23 Sports

The women’s SEC basketball tournament tips off Tuesday in Greenville, South Carolina. In game one of the tournament we will see the 13 seed Florida Gators face off against the 12 seed Ole Miss Rebels. The winner will face the ferocious 5th seeded Missouri Tigers on Thursday. The reigning champion for 4 years in a row, the South Carolina Gamecocks will be a 2 seed and fortunately for Mizzou on the other side of the bracket from Missouri.

The last time Florida and Ole Miss faced off was January 20th, when the Rebels hosted the Gators and took care of business, winning by a score of 76-66. Missouri has played both of these teams this year, they beat Ole Miss on January 3rd, in Columbia by a score of 78-55 Then just 10 days later on January 13th, they went to Gainesville, Florida and ended up losing to the Gators 58-56 on a last second layup by Delicia Washington of the Gators. Despite the loss to Florida, Mizzou should have no problems handling either of these two teams and move on to Kentucky.

The 4th seeded Kentucky Wildcats are in the headlights for the Missouri Tigers if they handle business on Thursday. The one time these two played this season, the Kentucky Wildcats took care of Missouri at home by a score of 52-41, holding Senior star Cierra Porter scoreless in the 19 minutes she played that game. However, despite the fact Missouri lost the last time out against Kentucky, this time around they will beat Kentucky simply because Cierra Porter is playing her best basketball right now and won’t be held down at all like their meeting earlier this year.

When the Tigers move on it will be against the 1 seeded Mississippi State Bulldogs. Despite upsetting the Bulldogs by 8 on the road on Valentines Day, I believe the Bulldogs will get the
best of the Tigers in this tournament. It will come down to the final possession of the game. But the Bulldogs come through over the Tigers. But, the Missouri Tigers will win the grudge match
in the NCAA tournament when they shock the world and become NCAA champions.